ASC: American Solar Challenge. A cross-country race that is now held every other year during the summer of each even year. Each team races through multiple stages from city to city. The team with shortest total time from the starting stage to the finishing stage, including penalties, is the winner.

FSGP: Formula Sun Grand Prix. A three-day track race held every year. The team that completes the most laps during the allotted race time (usually 24 hours, 8 hours a day for 3 days) is the winner. During the even years, FSGP serves as a qualifying race for ASC. To compete in ASC, you must complete a certain number of laps as determined by the race officials. The number of laps you complete determines your starting position for ASC.

NASC: North American Solar Challenge. Same race as the American Solar Challenge.

Scrut: Scrutineering. The rigorous, three-day testing each solar car must complete. All components of the cars are checked for safety and performance. Each car MUST pass all sections of scrutineering to race. The order in which teams pass scrutineering determines the starting order for FSGP.

Vist the ASC and FSGP webpage at!

Example: In 2010, 16 teams entered to race in FSGP. Gato IV passed scrutineering and finished FSGP 12th. 12 cars qualified to race in ASC, and with Gato IV starting 12th, the team finished 9th.

Year Car Race Results
2003 Gato I ASC 2003 Pass Scrut. DNQ for race.
2004 Gato I FSGP 2004 2nd in stock class
2005 Gato II NASC 2005 Pass Scrut. DNQ for race.
2008 Gato III NASC 2008 11 of 14
2009 Gato III FSGP 2009 2 of 9
2010 Gato IV FSGP 2010 13 of 14
Gato IV ASC 2010 9 of 13
2011 Gato IV FSGP 2011 5 of 11
2012 Gato IV FSGP 2012 14 of 16
Gato IV ASC 2012 DNQ
2014 Gato V FSGP 2014 14 of 17
2015 Gato V FSGP 2015 10 of 14
2016 Gato V FSGP 2016 14 of 17
Gato V ASC 2016 Provisionally Qualified
2017 Gato V FSGP 2017 7 of 17
2018 Gato VI FSGP 2018 DNQ
2019 Gato VI FSGP 2019 3 of 13