Three UK Students Win IEEE scholarships

posted in: News | 0

Three UK Students Win IEEE Scholarships

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Power and Energy Society has informed the University of Kentucky Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering that three of its students have been selected to receive a scholarship as part of the IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiativeâ„¢. The students are Allan Bartlett, Daniel Cambron and James Kirkpatrick IV.

The selection committee issued PES scholarships to 184 recipients from 95 U.S. and Canadian universities for the 2014-15 academic year. The initiative recognizes undergraduate students who have declared a major in electrical or computer engineering, are high achievers with strong GPAs with distinctive extracurricular commitments and are committed to exploring the power and energy field.

Kirkpatrick, a junior, will receive $2,000 and Cambron, a junior and third-year recipient, will receive $3,000. Bartlett, a sophomore, will receive $2,000 as a PES Scholar and an additional $5,000 since he was named the John W. Estey Outstanding Scholar recipient for IEEE Region 3. In addition to the scholarship, recipients will receive a certificate and a pin and will be publicly honored by the university at a future event.